Community Development Block Grants Awarded to Improve 7 LCOG Area Communities
Original article by Lowcountry CEO 

Seven communities in the Lowcountry COG region are slated to benefit from public improvement projects supported by more than $1.8 million in funds from the latest round of Community Development Block Grant funding. The SC Department of Commerce is awarding CDBG funds to these local communities for the following projects:

Town of Brunson - Adams Street Area Demolition                        $   118,900
Town of Estill - Church Street Area Demolition                              $ 500,000
Town of Gifford - Neighborhood Demolition                                  $     71,940 
Jasper County - Southern Jasper Drainage Study                          $   50,000 
Town of Hampton - Nix Street Neighborhood Revitalization       $ 500,000
Jasper County - Church/Stiney Neighborhood Revitalization      $ 500,000
Town of Gifford - Rosenwald School Stabilization                          $ 150,000

SC Commerce awards CDBG funds in the fall and the spring of each year. Selected through a statewide competitive process, local governments receiving CDBG funds are required to provide at least a 10 percent match in funding to complete the projects. Grant funds are allocated on an annual basis to South Carolina from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and SC Commerce administers the CDBG program on the state's behalf. The Lowcountry Council of Governments' Community & Economic Development Department in turn works closely with the communities to administer the grants at the local level. CDBG assists communities in providing housing, a suitable living environment and expanded economic opportunities.

All grants awarded through the CDBG program must meet at least one of three objectives:
-Benefit LMI (low-to moderate-income) persons.
-Aid in the prevention or elimination of slums and blighting conditions.
-Meet other urgent community needs where existing conditions pose a serious and immediate threat to public health and welfare, and where other financial resources are not readily available to meet such needs.

Overall, eighteen communities across the state were awarded CDBG funds in the Fall 2017 round.